10years of driving and my first speeding ticket...

SkylineV35

Course is around £85 depending on where you live. You won't get any points or a fine just the fee for a course. The idea is that you do the course and it will have no effect on your insurance, you don't have to declare it. (Although some insurers cheekily ask and will put your premium up if you tell them)

You can only do the course once in a three year period and you only qualify if you didn't exceed a upper limit which can also vary where you live. For example with Sussex Police, if caught in a 60mph zone going up to 75mph then you can do the course, anything over then it's points/ban if massively exceeded. Only know all this as I was caught at 75 in a 60 last year :lol:

Edited by Jp606

Sussex police did me for 86 on the motorway and I didn't get offered the course, it was my first offence. I've been driving for 15 years.

Admittedly then did first catch me doing 106, but apparently I went under a bridge so the reading couldn't be used

My mates Mum of 70 got done for 32 in a 30 limit, in a speed trap with a radar gun,

first offence she had in 40 years..!! Still done her..!! :scare:

wow - that was harsh

• Like 1

I have done 2, you pay for the course instead of the fine (normally the same price) but get no points. It's well worth the 3 or 4 hours you have to attend for.

General rule for being offered the course is speed limit plus 10% plus 2mph, but some counties are more flexible.

After 14 years of driving I got caught a few weeks back. The Northumbria Police force offered me either £100 fine and 3 points or a speed awareness course for £84!

Can you guess which one I opted for :lol:

As above, if you opt for speed awareness course you have to pay for course which will be give or take a little the same cost. You have to spend approx four hours doing course but in return no points on license and no need to tell insurers -even if they ask as the offense has been dealt with.