Thinking of getting a Dual Action polisher

ostego

So when i had my old hyundai coupe.... my idea of a car was was putting £2 in the jet washers at shell every 2 months and calling it there.

With the zed, I've found myself spending 2 hours every 2 weeks hand washing it, then waxing it

Want to start polishing it as well, as there are a couple of light circular marks in the paintwork (probably from me waxing it so much!) that show up in certain lights.

Figure for waxing and polishing, a dual action machine would be the best bet, especially seeing as i have little experience

was thinking of going for a kit like this

http://www.amazon.co.uk/TecTake-Professional-Eccentric-Polishing-including/dp/B008ZCR2VA/ref=sr_1_2?s=automotive&ie=UTF8&qid=1393510202&sr=1-2&keywords=dual+action+polisher

what else would i need if i bought that? or would that pretty much have me all sorted for the "low" price of £95

Is there much risk with DA machines of damaging the paintwork in the hands of a novice? That also scares me a lot

Dual action polishers are pretty safe, you should be fine.

You wouldn't want to be machine polishing the car often though maybe once every 8-12 months depending on the condition of the paint. I still think applying wax by hand is the best but for sure DA is the way to go for polishing.

Have a read of this first:

http://www.detailingworld.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=63859

If I were you, I'd spend the little extra and get a DAS6 Pro(They're tried and tested):

http://www.cleanyourcar.co.uk/polishing-machines/das-6-pro-dual-action-polisher/cat_81.html

Edited by delz0r

You would need to be ENORMOUSLY ham fisted to do any damage with a good DA. I had the same concerns when I used one for the first time but they really are easy, safe and give a great result - it is rotary polishers that can burn through the clear coat really easily as they don't have the same elliptical type of orbit.