Petrol Prices

brillomaster

Anyone else noticed how much petrol has come down recently? Price for sainsburys unleaded (yes I know...) near me the other day was 1.229 which I thought was low, but morrisons have just trumped that with 1.209...

Its been a long long time since petrol last dipped below 1.20 but it might well get there if this downward trend continues! Going to have to go for a nice long hoon to celebrate methinks :)

• Like 1

I work in the shipping industry and the tanker you see on the forecourt represents about a days fuel for one of our vessels. The Oil price (Brent Crude) has been falling for a while and all shipping lines are trending with a falling BAF surcharge (Bunker Adjustment Factor) this is to protect lines from fluctuation. Forecast is currently oil prices will continue to be weak for immediate future so good news at the pumps for a little longer but it will go up again - it always does.

Plus theres a snowdome in the desert - thats why prices rocket ! :)

Edited by Mudman

wow just been looking at the government figures for petrol prices here: https://www.gov.uk/government/statistical-data-sets/oil-and-petroleum-products-weekly-statistics

average price for unleaded on 27/10/2014 was 125.11 - the last time it was that low was 03/01/2011, when it was 124.85. So this is comfortably the lowest price petrol has been for the last 4 years!

I work in the shipping industry and the tanker you see on the forecourt represents about a days fuel for one of our vessels. The Oil price (Brent Crude) has been falling for a while and all shipping lines are trending with a falling BAF surcharge (Bunker Adjustment Factor) this is to protect lines from fluctuation. Forecast is currently oil prices will continue to be weak for immediate future so good news at the pumps for a little longer but it will go up again - it always does.

Plus theres a snowdome in the desert - thats why prices rocket ! :)

Who do you work for?