any idea why my insurance is so high?

LiamR

Ive read though alot of posts on here, trying to get a good idea of how much everyone is paying and from where, but i cant get my insurance down to less than £1600 though comparison sites, tried admiral that was about the same, and tried sky aswell but need to ring them as quick quote wont be accurate ( quoted 750 but cant enter a claim on the quote)

I'm 32 years old, live in a quiet area of Lancaster, will have 4 years no claims as of next month, car parked on street or in a secure car port when im at work, im a chef. I have no convictions but do have 1 claim from last year on my prelude of £475 with no other drivers involved- no claims was affected (6 years down to 3)

Car is 350z 2004 ( imported in 2007 so its technically the fairlady z ) worth 6k and no mods ( although it does have a nismo kit on it and 20" rims- should I be declaring these as mods? )

Please, if anyone can help/shed some light on what might be pushing the premium up so high I would be extremely grateful

Cheers,

Liam

The kit and wheels MUST be declared as mods!

Probably a combination of job, postcode and your claim last year I suspect, not that I'm trying to be derogative about any of them though, just one of those weird ways insurers work :)

I believe even with protected no claims you lose out on all of the discount, but when it's been 3-5 years after the accident you'll return to the normal amount of discount.

You should be declaring anything that is not fitted to the standard model (this includes optional extras) although TBH in my experience the insurance companies will more than happily use the cost of the mods to write off the vehicle quicker while only allowing you to replace with standard parts :rant:

You could for example, argue that you replaced your brembo pads with Ferodo ones as an OEM swap and same with your discs likely but not brake hoses, so with your wheels you'd need to declare them and likewise the body kit.