New to detailing

chirag1988

As I'm a complete newbie to car detailing I have a few questions. I've read through the threads about how to do it properly and that's pretty straightforward but I'm confused with the number of products out there. I'd like to have a decent set of products but I also want to keep it down to relatively affordable budget. What would be a good selection of products to use? Am I better off sticking to one brand or can i mix and match?

There's no problem mixing and matching - I personally tend to only use a handful of products from any one brand as I find some products from other brands work better, however I've spent a f***ing fortune finding out what I like! Ultimately everyone's going to have their own preferences. If you ask 10 people what the best product for x is, you'll likely get 7-10 different answers.

If you want cheap and effective, the Poorboys range is good for what they are.

If you want easily accessible, Megs and/or AutoGlym are readily available from local motorfactors. Megs tend to be better out of the two but then I'm not really a fan of AutoGlym at all as I think there's better stuff available at the same price point.

It will also depend on how often you want to re-apply products too. If you only want to apply once a year then you'll need to look into coatings, which none of those three brands offer, but if you're looking at re-applying monthly-to-quarterly then there's a fair choice from those three brands alone.

After joining this site I've now got quite a good selection of detailing products as SuperStu, downhuman, ilogikal1 & a few others have all given me advice and inspired me into trying to do it properly.

Tbh lately I've been loving my Meguiars products and just received there 3 stage system for Christmas. Yet to see how long the results will last but my initial trial/test results are good. Although it is a lot of hard work but when is detailing not. :lol: