Any photographers here????

Zugara

My Mrs has "decided" she wants to take up photography :wacko:

I am all in favour of this don't get me wrong, but she has seen and fallen in love with a Canon 60D SLR camera costing around £1000 :scare::scare:

Doogyrev very kindly offered his DSLR for a fantastic price, but my mrs says NOPE, Sorry Jim :surrender:

So, my question is this, Is a Canon 60D a good camera to start with or are there better for similar money :shrug:

Me? :boxing:

Any modern Canon DSLR is fine as long as you buy some decent lens with it. For starters I'd say use Canon 28-200mm, covers all ranges. Later on as she develops she'd need professional stuff, L range lens, flash, tripods, filters, etc

BTW, this year I'm the official photographer for the 3rd time in a row of the London New Year parade :blush:

I'm only an amateur and spent £250 on a second hand DSLR with 2 lenses, I've also got a few manual focus lenses too. Its true really that most of the goodness comes from the lenses so I'd try and get a couple of lenses with a camera at least. The body is really the inexpensive bit.

PERSONALLY

I'd say a 60D is too much for a first DSLR unless you really know what you want to get out of it.

If she really gets into it then you can always sell your camera for good money and buy an upgrade. There is also the chance that you will keep both as some different lenses suit different things.

I'd buy second hand until you know where you are going.

I fully appreciate what you have said about buying 2nd hand, and I am of the same opinion :thumbs:

However, she is steadfast on this Canon 60D which comes with a EF-S 18-55mm f3.5-5.6 IS Lens

or a

EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Lens

Now I am No photographer by any stretch, so Which would you say is a better Lens to go for?