Showing off Romania :) [PIC HEAVY]

Adrian@TORQEN

Except the first one about Coanda is debatable at best since his invention never flew or started up or did anything really, and Paulescu didn't discover insulin in 1922: That was when he first patented the right to manufacture it. He actually isolated it back in 1916, although Banting and Macleod were officially recognised via the Nobel prize for the discovery of insulin in 1923.

I guess that's probably why we'd never heard of them before. ;)

Point number 1 - Jet Engine - Did he balls. He made an engine that drove a centrifugal compressor with a four cylinder motor and, critically, given the pictures association with 747s and mass air transit, it didn't burn fuel in the compressed airstream.

The rest are outside my interests, but WTF has Steve Jobs got to do with cybernetics? He was a business man.

HTH.

I'm not an expert in engines, but this is publicly available on the internet:

The Coanda-1910 was amazingly ahead of it's time, with steel construction used in the wings, mobile surfaces placed ahead of the wings leading edges to increase lift, all fuel and lubricants placed in the upper wing and above all the engine. His engine the "Air-Reactive Engine", comprised of a four cylinder, 50 hp, water cooled Clerget piston engine connected to a gearbox, then to a compressor which rotated at 4,000 rpm. In front of the compressor a device much like the iris of a camera (called by Henri Coanda a obturator) controlled the amount of air entering the compressor. The air went from the compressor to "Burning Rooms" (combustion-chambers of a ring like section which were fitted ether side of the fuselage) were the exhaust from the piston engine and fuel were added and ignited, the resulting very hot and expanding exhaust exited through tubes and down the steel-sheeted sides of the aeroplane producing the thrust.