Skittish Rear End

FlowerM

Hi, I am new to 350Z having picked up 07 GT last Saturday.

Mainly great car, but on bumpy roads it is very skittish at the back, seeming to move laterally several inches and effectively changing direction.

I suspect it is because of the tyres, which are the standard fit Bridgestone RE040 with 12,500 miles on so only a few milimetres left. Presumably Bs are designed for smooth Japanese roads or tracks.

Having used Toyo Proxes T1-Rs on a GTR33 I was thinking of changing to them, but would be obliged if anybody could advise on cause of the problem and the choice of tyre.

Thanks for any help.

Mike F

Hi, I am new to 350Z having picked up 07 GT last Saturday.

Mainly great car, but on bumpy roads it is very skittish at the back, seeming to move laterally several inches and effectively changing direction.

I suspect it is because of the tyres, which are the standard fit Bridgestone RE040 with 12,500 miles on so only a few milimetres left. Presumably Bs are designed for smooth Japanese roads or tracks.

Having used Toyo Proxes T1-Rs on a GTR33 I was thinking of changing to them, but would be obliged if anybody could advise on cause of the problem and the choice of tyre.

Thanks for any help.

Mike F

:welcome: to the forum

The Bridgestones are not one of the best tyres for the zed and they certainly sound like your problem with the symptoms you describe. Gone to Toyo T1-Rs on mine and noticed a big improvement. :)

Another tyre to consider that is popular is the Falken 452 :)

Didn't '07s come with RE050s on? How many miles has the car done in total?

Worth checking your tyre pressures and alignment as well, either of those could cause the back end to feel extra lively.