ATM ate my debit card

JetSet

My life got somewhat complicated today when an ATM decided to keep my card for no apparent reason :surrender: . I'm in Sandbach with no money and my DTE reading 23 and it's 35 or so miles to where I live. Not only that but the only reason I went up there was to pick up and pay for some discounted B&Q paint. :angry: I have heard that some banks (I'm with TSB) will flag some transactions because they are out of your usual area but for goodness sake why keep my card? Anyone else experienced this?

Got home and checked my account, plenty of money in there and I don't see any transactions that look dodgy. Have sorted it out with the bank after being put on hold for 30 minutes which didn't lighten my mood at all.

Pete

• Like 1

The ATM has probably just gone mental. Sometimes they will not return the card if it's damaged.

I had the unfortunate pleasure of managing a Halifax agency and the ATM was a constant pain in the ass.

I'm an ATM engineer...it could've been retained for different reasons...

Card issues (expired, damaged/slightly bent)

ATM has a fault (faulty card reader or anti skimming device) which will cause it to keep card/freeze ATM

or fraud device on ATM. Most ATMs fitted with anti skimming devices so its harder/impossible to skim your card...unless they physically obtain it.

Just bad luck! Cancel it and ask for a new one:(

You will be fine. I went another 20 miles or so when it went to - - -

If you're worried and can make chester Let me know and I can give you £20 quid or so to get home.

Can't help on the reason why your card was eaten though.

If you want a laugh I was in M&S last weekend, card rejected twice so ended up paying on credit card.

I used my card at an ATM the day before that I just had a feeling about so went home and called the bank.

They checked and said there wasn't an issue with my card but could I read back the expiry date....