Effect of Job Description

Posidrive

With all the recent threads about accurate declarations and insurers looking for an easy out, it got me thinking about how they interpret your job and the industry in which you work sicne it apparantly has an impact on you premiums. Take my example.

I have a degree in Chemical Engineering, work in Petroleum Engineering but spend nearly all day writing computer software. So am I a Chemical Enginerr, Petroleum Engineer or Software Engineer/Developer?

I work for an Oilfield Services company. We provide survices to oil companies and oil exploration companies but don't actually either produce oil or search/drill for it. On one comparison web site these were the only real options, neither quite right.

You can tell that I'm bored today :)

http://www.moneysavingexpert.com/insura ... ob-picker/

There's being less specific and then there's lying. You can be more generic with your job title and it can save you a bit of money. If you said you're a Data Processor when you're a Mining Consultant they could void your insurance in a claim. But if you said you were a Computer Programmer when you're a Web Developer I doubt they'd see a problem as it is a form of programming and you are using a computer.

Going off the MSE job comparison, If a Chemical Engineer was paying £1,000 insurance, a Software Engineer would pay £1,004.50.

Just find the lowesr one that in it's basic level says what you do and go with that :)

Just find the lowesr one that in it's basic level says what you do and go with that :)

This, as long as it's not stretching the truth too much.

I'm a plumber by trade, but spend most of my time these days project managing. That said, it's my own company and so I put down Company Director as my job title.