370z - is it right for me?!

cfoster

Hi all, havent posted for a while after parting with my Z last year (well had 2 Z's!). Anyway i've recently sold my mercedes sl500 and currently trying to sell my DC5 and go back to the one car, originally was going to settle for a boring 535 diesel sport BMW but a friend (who got me into Z's originally) pointed me to a 370Z! Read all the reviews, they look awesome and the writeups are very positive. However budget wise I am looking at the earlier circa 16k ones. Would I be making a mistake opting for one, baring in mind it will probably only be for the summer, come the winter time I will no doubt want to sell for something practical (never kept cars too long). Will depreciation hit me in this 8 month period do you think or is it a case of 'buy for the right price/sell for the right price? Also being a complete newbee to the 370s are there any options I should/shouldn't go for baring in mind my budget. For my driving style i'd prefer an auto (getting lazy!) but a manual would be fine if one came up? I rarely drive anymore, perhaps one or 2 100 mile round trips a week tothe missus place (all dual carriageway) and will be taking it to Le Mans in June. The other option I have considered is an Audi TT (sorry!!).

Any advice would be great.

Thanks

Chris

Simplest advice take a test drive and see, no one can make the decision for you. If you have owned the later 350z you may not notice that much difference in performance. The cabin is a much nicer place to be though.

Theres the basic spec and then the gt, later models have the better connect preium sat nav system. The current model also comes in a gt edition spec with better suspension.

It is a bit of a tough one because it is more down to personal decision in what you like in a car. If you have a budget, you mite want to consider the 350Z as they've depreciated quite a bit more and is probably just as fun to drive if you're looking for a weekend blast around.