Paddle shifters

z350convert

I am thinking about upgrading from my 350z to a 370z at some point.

As an "old school" driver and avid double de clutches/ heel and tower I never thought I would say this but I quite fancy an  automatic because of the paddle shift option and the rev match gizmo. I have no experience of these but I had a few laps in a Ferrari with paddle shift the other day and thought it was good fun.

Would I get bored with it and miss the manual change? Is there a down side to this transmission? Do they all have rev match?

Answers from the knowledgable would be very welcome.

Thanks

Drive one first, but be aware that the slush 'box in the 370 isn't remotely close in speed to the 458 or 488. Bearing in mind the manual has rev-matching, if that's what you want it for then that may be a better option.

I don't dislike auto boxes with paddle shift, but it has to be the right car personally. I loved my 911 which was PDK and tbh I'd buy another one in a heartbeat, but I wouldn't want an automatic Elise. Half of the joy of the 370 is the fact it's so old school, so I'd have to stay manual on that one. But hey, try them both and see :) 

Hopefully some 370 auto box owners can fill you in on the details but as someone who has always had manual cars for over 2 decades and am now in an auto I'd say you have to really give it a try.

Personally I am loving it in my M135i and don't miss doing manual changes with a clutch at all. Makes the daily drive to work feel effortless and when I want to go full throttle I can use the paddles if I like for lightning fast gear changes. B)  

• Like 1

54 minutes ago, GMballistic said:

Hopefully some 370 auto box owners can fill you in on the details but as someone who has always had manual cars for over 2 decades and am now in an auto I'd say you have to really give it a try.