Radiator fans not working properly/overheating

julieh

Hi,

Im new to this so please bear with me. I have a 53plate 350z that is my pride and joy.

Seeing as the sun was shining at the weekend I decided to get my 'zed' out from under its cover where its been hiding all winter and get him prepped for the summer. Took it up the road to clean the brakes, got back home and it overheated on me on the driveway. We bled the system to get rid of any airlocks but it appeared that neither of the rad fans were cutting in.

I took it to my local garage yesterday and it seems that they cannot turn the fans on independently via their computer, however, they will work if tapped with a small hammer, albeit slow and only for around 20 secs. They think that I need new fans at a cost of just under 1k....As you can imagine, im absolutely gutted!

I picked the zed up this arvo, a relatively short journey home so no chance of overheating and have since spent all my time surfing the net and 'googling'.

I then came across the Auto Active Test and even though im a woman, it seemed relatively easy to carry out so decided to give it a go. Much to my amazement the fans kicked in perfectly and were spinning like they should.....!?

Now im stuck, does anyone have any ideas whats happening and where I should be going next? Temp sender maybe?

As previously mentioned, I am female but can find my way around some of this stuff if given the right help.....

Thank you

Julie.x

I would check the temp sender unit is working before anything else..

There is no sender as such as the fans are controlled by the temperature settings within the ECU.

These settings however can be changed to alter when the fans come on and go off.

Alex. :)

• Like 1

Forgot to ask ZMANALEX, do you supply the motors on their own or with fans?

Thanks ever so....

Julie,

I can supply the genuine Nissan fan motors on there own or with fans, however most just swop the fans over.