Just fitted Japspeed K1 to my zed, omg!!!!!

rabbitstew

Well thought today id fit the K1 which I bought the other week. Im a very good mechanic and this sort of job normally only takes me an hour on most cars.

But omg what a total nightmare.

First off took me about 30mins to work out how to jack the car up!

The cars 3 years old but ive never seen one so rusty underneath. The cross members looked like they were off a 20 year old car. The exhaust nuts were so rusty they had already started to disintegrate.

So, start off undoing the nuts holding the exhaust sections together. Out of 4 nuts only one undoes. Have to use a nut splitter and and angle grinder on the 2 which join the Y pipe to the mid pipe and yet still one of the studs snapped off the Y pipe. ARGH!! But at least that bits free now. So, on to the rear box. There is no way on earth the 2 nuts joining the mid pipe to the back box will come undo. The one which did come undone turns out actually had 2 nuts on it. Sigh. So, angle grind through one, but the grinder wont reach the other and because of the shape of the flange the nut splitter wont fit. ARGH!

So in the end I had to cut through the actual exhaust pipe instead.

Then came the awkward job of trying to get the box off the rubber mounts. Jesus they make that hard.

So back to the snapped off stud on the Y pipe.... The bolts holding the Y pipe onto the cats looked like they were 100 years old so there was no way i was trying to undo them. So only option was to either try and weld some threaded bar to the Y pipe, or drill out the broken stud. I go for the drill option... 2 hours later I finally manage to drill a hole big enough through it so I can use a nut & bolt.