ECU spec and limitations.

Tricky-Ricky

Its late and I'm heading for bed but I thought it might be an idea to start this thread, especially since the way the thread by zippypooz dyno run went, and I have just searched and could find nothing relating to the actual capabilities and limitations of the std ECU, especially when it comes to adding breathing mods etc, and explain just how and why its thought to negate breathing mods...or not. ;)

• Like 3

WARNING! this may get a little long winded and boring to some, however it may ultimately prove useful to some.

I thought this might have a few replies, given the amount of arguments about dyno figures and breathing mods on the other thread.

Anyway this is not intended to be an argument/discussion about dyno figures, more if an how the std ECU works , and in relation to adding breathing mods etc.

Now I am no expert, but I have mapped a few piggybacks and stand alones, but a while ago and older tech, but I like to think I have a fair grasp on just what goes on with your average ECU and how it controls the engine parameters.

Now when I first bought my Skyline 350GT (Z in sheep's clothing) I fully intended to self tune using Up-rev software, so as a prelude to this I first bought an Innovate LM2 twin wide-band set up and fitted it to the cats (and yes I am fully aware that this will gave a slightly scewd AFR signal) anyway I monitored and logged as I fitted some breathing mods, long tube intake, dual exhaust and the obligatory plenum spacer, and can honestly say that I didn't see any major changes in the AFRs, and further to this the car was dynoed at Abby by Mark and made pretty much std power and toque figures.

Unfortunately I never did get around to buying up-rev and self tuning.