Fresh Paint and protection

zebedy

Hope someone can set me straight here. As you may or may not know I'm in the process of painting my car and should be complete (fingers crossed) in about two weeks time. Obviously the weather is now changing and is set to get colder and wetter by the week, so it stands to reason I need to protect my newly painted toy.

Q. Will it be too soon to apply a coating of something the week I finish the painting? if so, how long should I leave it?

Q. Also what product should I use for complete protection against the nasties of winter that will last say 3-4 months. I'll also need something similar for the wheels too.

Please advise which products would be the better option for me and how to apply and how soon after painting.

cheers in advance. (TOTAL NOOB REGARDS TO DETAILING ETC)

Zebb

I bet Ed at Divine and Ricey would be full of useful info, and along shortly.

Some people talk of waiting for paint to "de-gas" before applying but that aside. If I was getting fresh paint all over I'd be looking into the Quartz/Silicone/Nano long life coatings or possibly even a full clear vinyl wrap.

Edit: before Matt thinks I don't rate him, what I should have stated is, I'd get a pro to do it on brand new paint, rather than DIY. As it's the best chance you'll ever get to protect it and it brings all the tricky to use coatings into play.

Honestly after a week your prob ok with most products but as Stu said the solvents will still gas off for a bit

That I guess leads us on to solvent based sealants......couldn't tell you 100% but they would bey only concern in case they could some how soften fresh paint.

That said you're only looking for 3-4 months protection so a decent wax will probably do the trick and not cause you want issues.

Ed is obviously a leg-end in detailing but Ilogikal will probably give you a very well informed opinion as well as he's experimented with loads of products.