US vs UK

Hot Rod Zombie

I'm new on here and I was looking around and noticing that insurance seems to be quite high compared to the US. The husband and I may be moving to the UK sometime in the next two years. I know it's going to be awhile, but I was just curious about the insurance rates.

I got my Z two years ago when I was 19. I'm 21, I'll be 22 in a week. I pay $69 (£48) a month here in the states / $414 (£290) per six months. I've paid that amount since the day I got my car.

I was involved in two accidents last year, both were 100% the other persons fault, but of course is still reflected on my record. My insurance just renewed as of yesterday and my rates are still the same as what I've been paying for the last two years. Other than the two Not-At-Fault accidents, my record is spotless.

Should I assume if I move over there, my insurance rates will raise drastically if I were import my Z or even just a buy a Z over there?

Yep. Basically 3 tarrifs. You would want Fully Comprehensive though. That actually covers you!

A lot depends on post codes (zip codes if you like...) as inner city will be much higher than outside.

I'm a lucky one with a good post code!

Awesome. Thanks so much! I've just been reading a lot of stuff on here and it seems like insurance is so high there in the UK. I can't imagine paying that much over here, but I understand there are different standards and whatnot over there.

Thanks again!

you have just summed up the uk. we get ripped off on EVERYTHING :rant:

Remember also that cars are half the cost in the US than they are over here, so a $30K car would cost £30K over here more or less. Going on that, $414 every six months would be actually be £414, or £828 annually. It's still cheaper yes, but not by as much as you think when you compare the relative values of the cars in the domestic currency.