Basic Car Detailing "Guide"

Ewan27

This is an edited post to reflect some of the advise and product recommendations from other members:

Hi guys, someone asked me how I clean my car and what products I used so I wrote them a lengthy e-mail about it. I am only a beginner with detailing and I am aware I may not be using the products as per the manufacturer's instructions. This is just the method, and process that I follow. While feedback would be welcome, please don't barrage me with abuse cause I'm not using something correctly :) My new car is arriving in a couple of weeks, so will post picture of the finished product, although I don't have a Z anymore :(

First thing anyone serious about detailing will recommend is the two bucket method (2BM). Basically you have one bucket with hot water and wash concentrate, and a second "clean" bucket just filled with cold water. This is for rinsing your cleaning cloth/mitt each time, before you put it back into your hot bucket. So you would rinse your mitt in the cold, put your mitt in the hot, wash a panel, mitt back in the cold, rinse and repeat :)

The buckets for sale on "clean your car" are overpriced, any (clean) builders buckets would be suitable, think I got mine from a hardware store.

Snow Foam Lance - http://goo.gl/m6qELA

This fits onto your pressure washer handle. Fill it about a quarter way with the below. You can top the bottle up with water, but I tend to use it neat.

Valet Pro - Advanced Neutral Snow Foam - http://goo.gl/8hlDoh

This is the snow foam to put in your lancer, but also doubles up as a decent car shampoo (you hardly need to put any in your bucket)

Meguiars Lambswool Wash Mitt - http://goo.gl/FQ9JW6