Why is my suspension so harsh?

tobys

Help greatly appreciated here please people!

Newish Z owner, still getting used to car - but loving every minute! :teeth:

Thing is: My suspension seems overly harsh, can feel every bit of worn tarmac, seam, etc on motorways and main roads & worse yet as i live in the sticks (Norfolk) going even at legal speeds on country B roads that are uneven makes me feel that the car is almost trying to bounce right off the road! :scare:

04 UK GT, Eiback springs & rear camber kit, stock dampers (as far as i know), has been aligned (full 4-wheel), 18" rays and RE050A DZs all round (correct size & spec). Car's done 30k miles.

Although I'm new to the Z i had a mk4 Golf with H&R springs and highspec VW shocks at about a 35mm drop and it was well softer (but still much firmer than stock) and handled beautifully - could really hammer down B roads round here. Now i kno the Z is a whole different beast, but:

Should i be feeling this??? :dry:

Anyone got any ideas?

springs too hard? Knackered shocks? knackered bushes (do have what sounds like a squeak from driver's rear)? it's been polybushed and i don't know? i'm just being a wuss?

I've read some say on here that oem shocks are a bit hard for uk roads... i can't afford coilies and was thinking about some Tein H-Tech maybe (assuming the springs are my problem). Not too worried about stance - though she does look good with the Eibachs, just comfort mainly, will track occassionally one day, but not serously.

anyone local offer me a ride in their car on oem, eibachs or different aftermarket setup - so i can compare please?

thanks in advance!

Toby

I don't think the standard setup is very harsh, if anything its better at speed. As yours is lowered it might just be a lack of available wheel travel to take care of bumps. Some new dampers appropriate to your ride height might be an idea.

Eibach lowering springs can knock the alignment out pretty good.