Fitted new DBA4000 Front Rotors

Rubber

I had what felt like a warped disc when braking. Brakes were working ok but you could feel the brake slightly pulse when stopping at low speeds. I changed the pads all round for Ferodo DS2500 a couple of months ago. The old pads were a disgrace. I intially though the brakes were better following the change but the pulsing was still there. So, on to Zmanalex again for a new set of front rotors.

Removing the old rotors and the spacers

SDC18842.jpg

This is what the old rotors looked like when they came off...

SDC18860.jpg

Don't look too bad really. But wait, thats only the visible side of the rotors. The engine side looked like this :scare:

SDC18861.jpg

SDC18862.jpg

SDC18854.jpg

SDC18848.jpg

SDC18847.jpg

To be honest I'm not experienced with performing car maintenance myself. However, my father in law is a helicopter mechanic and he's worked on cars all his life so under his guidance things are a doddle. Plus he has a tool for every occassion!

To remove the rotors we:

1) Removed the wheel nuts

2) Removed the wheel spacer (get another person to step on the brake pedal when undoing the nuts for this one)

SDC18843.jpg

3) Unbolted the two large bolts holding the brake caliper in place

4) Slowly pushed the caliper off the rotor (making sure we did not bend the hard brake pipe too much). Then remove the rotor which comes straight off.

The hard brake pipe is shown in this pic. We could have removed the bracket (black) for the brake pipe but we thought it would be easier to leave it in place. Not sure if other people do it this way?

SDC18859.jpg

5) Bolted the caliper back in position to support it while we cleaned up the hub. We used a drill with a wire brush type attachment and some scotch brite to clean up the hub. Also took the opportunity to spray anti-corrosion agent around the brake pipes etc.

SDC18852.jpg

SDC18844.jpg