Which Throttle Body Upgrade for the HR

sjparker

Hello all,

New to the forum and to Zed ownership. 

I had some issues with the car going into limp mode and throw P1233 (Throttle Valve Control: Circuit Defective) and P1239 (Throttle Valve Position Sensor: Faulty). It only happens in very cold temperatures but it is really annoying having to clear the OBD codes each time to get the car functioning again.

I took the car to Horsham Developments and they said it looks like the throttle body valves have some corrosion and dirt. They said that although cleaning only takes an hour, it can throw off throttle positioning and this needs ECU work done. Total cost around £500.

I'm not technically minded at all but after a bit of research, I assume that I can just replace the throttle bodies which upgraded ones as I'm already half way there with the cost of that fix I thought if I'm going to spend that much just on cleaning, I might as well just replace throttle bodies entirely with upgraded ones as I do plan to remap the car in the future.

Out of the two of these, which would be better for the HR engine:

https://www.torqen.uk/specials/simplistic-garage/68555-simplistic-garage-complete-75mm-throttle-body-kit-hrvhr2003-vq35hrvq37vhr-g35-07-08-350z-g37fx37-370z-infiniti-q50-q60.html

or

https://www.torqen.uk/nissan/350z/intakes/throttle-bodies/15488-350z-hr-eps-tuning-70mm-big-bore-throttle-body-kit-bb70-kit.html

Or is there any other options that I might have missed?

Appreciate any help or guidance, thanks!

Edited by sjparker

If you're sure that the throttle bodies are the problem then you might as well have a go at cleaning them.

They're very simple to remove and you shouldn't have any issues with the ECUs as long as you disconnect them BEFORE you disturb the butterfly valves.