Single or dual

Hi all, 

I've searched the forums but for the most part responses to this question have been based on aesthetics, and the argument ends up in accusations of  being a gay chav or a sheep :lol: Whilst looks are a consideration, I would like to remove that from the argument. 

Taking that out of the picture, which is best for an NA HR? I have no intention of going FI in the future, and whilst most people seem to think that the duals are better, and it certainly seems the focus of the manufacturers, I see people racing higher HP NA zeds with single exhausts. Whilst I don't intend on racing (well, maybe track days when I'm not a complete novice), if I do pursue any power it will be the NA route. 

Can anybody confirm pros and cons to assist in decision? Is there a difference in power at all post tune? 

My exhaust is rusted to fook, and although I had hoped to focus on handling first, the mot man might say different :dry:

Best? Lightest and least restrictive, so arguably a true dual would be best. 

However, you’re talking fractions and tbh I’d just get the one you like the look and sound of. By all means spend £2k on a titanium job if you can afford it, but otherwise there’s not a lot in it really. 

1 hour ago, Doom said:

Is there a difference in power at all post tune? 

No, your choice is purely down to budget and sound, but if you plan to do trackdays, make sure you dont go down the noisey  route, which a single exit will definitely be. which also rules out decats.

Personally i like the sound of a true dual.

Edited by Jetpilot

29 minutes ago, Ekona said:

Would lightest not be a single? There is less metal. 

I'm trying to understand the restriction thing as a lot of people talk about it, but I see 400ish hp n/a cars racing with a single 3.5" pipe, so is restriction much of an issue when not FI? 

21 minutes ago, Jetpilot said: