Door Switch Panels

SiriusProjects

Hi All,

I had a go at respraying my door switch panels a short time ago and being a complete beginner at these things, it didn't go well. For one, I don't know what happened with the lacquer, but I let it dry for 24 hours, but when I picked up one of the panels, my fingerprints showed up in the lacquer. Plus a day or two later before fitting, I noticed like a bubbling effect along one edge. Fortunately, I have another set of door switch panels so am going to give it another go. But before I do, can anyone offer any helpful tips and advice so that I can maybe get a half decent job done this time?

Thanks.

I would have thought 24 hours should have been long enough for the lacquer to harden. :dry: Was it from a rattle can or did you use a 2 pack mix in a spray gun?

I'm guessing though it was from a rattle can as you say you are a beginner. The only thing I can think of with that is that maybe the conditions you left it in to dry weren't right for it to harden correctly. E.g. Too moist/damp conditions, too cold etc.

Preparation is the key to getting a good paint finish.

If I remember correctly the switch panels have a "soft touch" type paint finish from the factory so you will need to ensure all of that is removed. Rough grade wet & dry paper (120, 320 etc) gradually working your way up to a smoother grade paper (800, 1000 etc) should do it although getting into all the little corners will be tough.

Once you've removed all of the old paint finish you will need to wash the switch panels, then dry & then use a panel wipe ideally for best results before spraying (make sure you're wearing some latex/nitrile gloves at this point as you do not want to contaminate your cleaned part) with a plastics primer (I use "Hycote" products but others available as below).

Link: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/AUTOTEK-AEROSOL-PLASTIC-PRIMER-GREY-500ML-SPRAY-PAINT-BODYWORK-MAINTENANCE-/111507773504?hash=item19f6619840:g:HZcAAOSwPe1ULsCP