Respray Process

rmgthatsme

New Owner of a 2004 pearl white roadster. I am thinking of getting a respray a little later on due to stone chips and just started asking around on prices for a total body respray in the same colour. Could anyone outline what would constitute a decent respray i.e. how many coats of paint and clear, oven baked etc. How long should all this take?

The reason I'm asking is that we have been quoted as long as 2 weeks to 1 month for the work and prices ranging from the equivalent of 1,000 quid to 2.5 times this (OOOh that pearlescent paint's tricky stuff to get right...) so a little confused by the variation in timing and costs. Could I get the benefit of someone's experience what would constitute a decent respray (outside panels only), the process and how long it should take? Have never had any spraying done so a total noob in this area and afraid can be spotted as one a mile off :blush::blush:

It will vary massively. I had my old Prelude resprayed 8 years ago and had the colour changed, it cost £1200 (cash in hand) back then, I did all the stripping and reassembly myself so saved the bodyshop a few days work. If you're staying the same colour then you're really after a blow over if its just stone chips and that. If you want it to be completely redone then you're probably looking at the £2k figures.

The only way to know is by asking the body shops exactly what they do. Prep is what takes the time so if you can remove mirrors, bumpers, lights, window seals yourself you'll save a lot! I can't imagine you needing that much prep on the panels if the car is in good condition so I'd think around the £1500 mark.

Prices will vary wildly. Paint isnt expensive, its the time and expertise involved in getting a good finish.

Do you have to have the whole car done? Usually its just the bumper / bonnet which gets all the marks. I paid £250 for someone to repaint those on one of my previous cars.