Plastic(ish), rubber(y) burning smell

cs2000

Ok, so, over the past few days once warm there has been a strange burning smell coming through the air vents. I sat the car on my driveway this morning, fired it up and simply let it warm up.

Once almost warm the weird smell starts. Almost smells like a plastic burn, but not exactly, and defiantly isn't an electrical burn.

The smell isn't noticeable when driving at 30mph but comes back as soon as you stop. If you turn the fans off it clears after a few mins.

Now, I had a look under the car on the passenger side as the small is REALLY bad there and almost non existent on the drivers side, and there are several rather oily looking components, especially the rubber boot on the CV joint(? I think, im not a mechanic).

I touched it and it feels oily, but smells like general dirt rather then oil, almost odorless, but it could be a few days old.

Now have no idea what it could be or where its coming from :(

Edited by cs2000

That's what I thought, im just wondering why the smell isn't of burning oil, but definatly looks suspect.

il have to get the engine cover (plastic) off and see if I can see any better where its touched anything that's hot. I suspect its dripped down onto the exhaust as it smells more on the passenger side and the lower you go the worse it gets.

Yeah I did try and have a look at that but im in my full work get up (suit and tie) and it was in a public car park. Il try to get under the car when im back home but its gonna stink as it will still be hot!

Ive just had a thought. I believe the smell started after giving it a fairly large chunk of beans and then coming to a stop at a roundabout. Im leaning more to the dipstick need replacing. Perhaps as the oil pressure rose from the aforementioned bean giving that it popped the stick loose and tadaa, nasty smell.