Tyre meets Screw!!!

N9JAH

Got to work this morning and checked my alloy as I hit a pothole. No damage to the alloy but did notice a screw in my tyre.

It's on the outside of the 1/4 of the tyre so no chance of a repair.

Both rear tyres have 4mm tread left but I’m concerned if I replace one rear tyre and not the other the car will feel unbalance due to one side having more grip?

Do I need to buy 2 new rear tyres?

Should I get the Bridgestone so my rear tyres match the front?

Any cheap suppliers known?

All so money is tight as just had a service and insurance is due!

Help!!!!

As you should know, never mix tyres.

But with it been the same tyre I can not see much difference after it has been on a few mile (maybe 100?) I would have thought it would have started to wear to your alignment.

But.. Im not an expert just an edducated guess.

The better option is to replace both obviously but if you can't I can onluly see that as your best option.

One of the same tyre will be better than two cheap tyres so.

Thanks for the advice.

I would usually replace both rears but moneys tight and £500 is more than I have right now.

I think my best option is to buy a part worn tyres that is identical in make and treed depth to my other rear. To be honest I can only just afford that.

Driving around with a screw in my tyre is making me rather nervous.

these are the pitfalls of driving a performance car - the maintenance and running costs are higher

if you can't afford to run it there is only one answer I'm afraid :shrug:

If that answer is sell it, it's not a option more of a sin.

Just had a few big bill car related come at once along with a expensive g/f. Another moth and all will be fine again and could afford 2 new tyres.

If that answer is sell it, it's not a option more of a sin.

Just had a few big bill car related come at once along with a expensive g/f. Another moth.........