Changing plenum chamber - anything to look for?

H5

Thanks for that bud, some useful stuff in there. :thumbs:

Since it is going on soon, I may as well tell.....!

I am actually swapping it out for a polished version of the same. The only other one I'd go for is the Cosworth, but from the looks of it, there is a gasket between the upper and lower plenum - is this cork? Metal? Something else? Also wondered about torque settings for doing it back up?

In a nutshell, am I ok pulling the usual socket set and wrench out, and doing this myself? I'm not a complete novice, but have no back up if I mess something up! :blush:

metal gasket between plenum, I seem to remember when I swopped mine (long time ago now :blush: ) :thumbs: just get good quality allen key's to undo the bolts as they can strip out the centres easily.. I used a torque wrench to retighten as it easy to overtighten the 6mm bolts and strip the threads :) and dont drop anything down the inlet :lol:

metal gasket between plenum, I seem to remember when I swopped mine (long time ago now :blush: ) :thumbs: just get good quality allen key's to undo the bolts as they can strip out the centres easily.. I used a torque wrench to retighten as it easy to overtighten the 6mm bolts and strip the threads :) and dont drop anything down the inlet :lol:

That's what I'm worried about! :lol::blush:

Any ideas what the torque settings are?? :)

found the Kinetix instructions on line here :thumbs:

http://www.350zfreak.com/plenum.htm

:thumbs:

I assume the gasket is reuseable then?? :wacko:

:thumbs:

I assume the gasket is reuseable then?? :wacko:

yep , so long as you havent damaged it :thumbs:

There is some logic in that! I didn't give this much thought and am now worrying myself that I'm going to cause a load of damage!!

Will give it a go later. Is there a way of testing if there is an air leak when it is on?