Understeer

SherlockH

Im quite new to FR layout cars as this is my first RWD. I was expecting the car to oversteer more.

Im after making the car handle more neutral, the tyres are what looks like some sort of budget tyres - which if changed is probably going to help leaps and bounds - but they are almost brand new (don't hate I bought the car with them on).

After a little bit of searching I found a few threads, slightly relating to this problem. I want to keep or improve the sharpness of the turn in so I don't really want to sacrifice that by putting big tyres up front.

I'm a little to unsure where to start, do I start looking at coil overs or arbs first ? I really like the feel of the stock suspension for long trips mainly Portsmouth - Middlesbrough, so I'm not after a full track style set up.

Should I maybe consider looking at the bushes ? as the car has 70,000 on the clock.

As I'm not used to the car the problem is probably more the driver :lol:

Sorry if this post has been covered a lot, would be grateful if someone could point me in the right direction.

The first step I'd say would be to get decent tyres on and have someone that knows what they're doing check that everything's in order (including wheel alignment). Maybe once the car is working as it should it will handle in a more balanced way :)

No point in modifying until you know where the base point is.

• Like 2

Agreed. Bin those crappy tyres, get some decent ones on there, then get a geo by someone who can understand and interpret what you want the car to do. Little bit of toe out at the front and less camber at the rear should help nicely.

• Like 2

Agreed. Bin those crappy tyres, get some decent ones on there, then get a geo by someone who can understand and interpret what you want the car to do. Little bit of toe out at the front and less camber at the rear should help nicely.

Is it possible to achieve a "fast road setup" within the adjustment of the stock suspension?