Learning to "Drive" - Track / Rally Schools North West

Been wanting to look into this for a while now but I'm in need of some advice. I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to actually driving properly. I'm wanting to increase my knowledge of the cars handling with a physics lesson, carrying speed through corners, oversteer, understeer etc and wondered about the best way of doing this. Seems like there's 2 obvious options, a day at a track under instruction or a day at a rally school? I'd then look to take my new found talent of being the next Jason Plato and attend a few trackdays.

I live in the South Lakes so happy to travel around the North West / West Yorkshire etc and wondered if anyone had done something similar and recommend anywhere?

There's these guys who Google threw up near the top who seem to have the right approach:

http://drivertuition.com/index.htm

Or a rally school near Bradford:

http://www.extreme-rally.co.uk/

Any advice or information would be much appreciated.

Either of those you have already searched, or even both if you can.

No amount of extra tuition, guidance is an issue and always helpful.

Novice Days as suggested above I hear are good too.

Skid Pan days can be quite good for gaining the experience and better understanding of over and understeer too.

Then the Advanced Driving Test can be good for aiding driving techniques for the road and free, just the test to pay.

All are excellent fun, so enjoy. :)

Rally days won't teach you much about circuit driving. I've done one in a Group N Impreza which was masses of fun, especially the handbrake turns, but it's a very different discipline. I'm not saying that none of the skills can be transferred over (certainly balancing the car is a great skill to acquire), but if you want to do track days I'd be looking at something circuit-specific.