bodywork advice

varley16

I purchsed a poiler not so long ago, and the finish isnt 100%, so i have lots of spare time and room, and want to prep, spray and fit it myself.

i know its not going to be easy, but im a technician so i find it easier to learn something like this, and being able to do it.

ive just spoken to a body tech, about doing it, but he sounded hungover and didnt catch what he was saying.

what i got so far is i need:

bumper filler (plastic filler)

hardener.

i think he said mix 10% hardener with the filler and put it on.

a tool to apply it.

sandpaper, unsure of grades.

primer

obviously spray to match colour.

and UV protected laquer.

Thats all heard from him, also is there any guides anywhere?

thanks, much appreciated.

• 2 weeks later...

I've read guides which have helped me in a big way, first layer of colour just gone on, one thing my bodyshop guy has said is that I need a buffer, which I've got, but do I need to buff it after each colour layer, after the final colour layer or after the lacquer layer?

by all means prep it yourself but to be honest you will never really achieve a good finish with **** can spray paints and the cost needed to buy them you might aswell get it done at a paint shop.

however, if you have already bought the paint

I'm guessing you will be spaying a metallic so you wont be doing any sanding and polishing until after the lacquer has gone on.

your first coat should also have been a relatively dry coat, follow by at least 2 wet coats (look this up on the internet for explanation)

personally if you are **** canning lacquer on I would leave it at least a week to harden before flatting and polishing it off!

spoiler almost completed, last layer of paint went on yesterday, so smooth as ive spent hours preping it and smoothing each layer, purchased my last can of clear lacquer, sprayed it on.....out came primer!!!!! WTF!