Improving the audio experience...

Kuro

after 12 months of driving around with the standard audio setup, I'm at my wits end :scare:

So, what can be done on a moderate budget, contraints include;

1. It's the non-Bose, standard setup - is this easier order harder to modify?

2. Ideally I'd like to keep the standard HU, as I love the steering controls and it looks neat/stealthy.

Other than that, open to suggestions..!

Would simply spending £100-£150 on a new set of full range 17cm speakers do the trick? How about a set of mid range/bass for the rears?

What can the standard HU handle?

I like my audio, but I'm a complete ICE novice really :blush:

Thanks B)

I would not start putting mid/bass onlys in the rear. Either keep them full range coaxials or just disconnect them completly.

The question is not what the head unit can handle its more how much power it will have and it will not have a lot. As your not going to be spending LOTs of money you will not be under powering the speakers so much theres a chance of damage so thats good.

Putting new speakers in the doors will help as the standards are not great - even the BOSE ones are not great.

I would not start getting an amp and speakers until you have replaced your head unit IMO. If you start playing the old convert speaker down to line level game you are asking for trouble.

In order I would say

1) Replace Speakers - £150ish. Not too cheap that its not worth it but no really expensive you don't get the best out of it (At least put 'some sound deadening on the door behind the speaker)

2) Head Unit

3) Amp for Front Components

I don't think even the standard non-bose are full range they are components so make sure you get a set rather than coaxials which are often refered to as full range.

thanks all :)

Ok, so the first step seems to be replacement of the fronts - and I may as well dynamat whilst I there I suppose?