More Than Likely FAQ....

nordberg

I'm going to be a total noob here so please accept my apologies in advanvce...

I have a few queries I'd like your feedback on regarding the Z. For the past 4 years I've been running Celicas. I was close to getting the Z when I last changed 2 years ago, but waiting lists and sensibility prevented me. Now, however.....

The biggest problem I can see is the running costs. I know it will cost more to run than my TSport, but I'm looking for some realistic economy figures. I spend a good deal of time in queueing traffic to and from work. The rest of my driving is on your usual A road. I don't do so much motorway driving. What MPG can I expect to acheive if I drive reasonably sensibly? I also imagine the Z has a hunger for rubber. How long do the average set of tyres last?

What's the deal with the JDM's? There's obviously loads about but I have read stories about how they are this and that and basically not a patch on the UK models? Fact or fiction?

Are there any common faults I should be looking for? I'm more than likely going to be going for a used one (or "pre-owned" according to my local Nissan dealer).

I think that's about it for now....

Cheers,

Matt

MPG can drop to about 20 or just under when town driving, but over 30 when M-way crusing. For mixed driving you should average around 25mpg.

Tyres - all depends how hard you thrash them. Changed mine at about 11k or 12k. Rears were pretty well gone, fronts still had a bit of life, but I wanted the same on all 4 corners so changed them all at once ( about £550 for Toyo T1-Rs, which are highlt recommended ).

I'm sure there's a thread explaining the differences with JDMs somewhere. BAsically the early ones were inferior in quite a few areas, the later ones are more or less the same, so depends on how old you were looking at.

No major faults - a few smaller things fitted under warranty ( although I've not needed any of them ).