Nippon challenge race report - contain video

DixcelBrake

Nippon Challenge Race report – race 3,4 and 5.

PICT0091.jpg

PICT0060.jpg

After our last race at Snetterton, we understand our car didn’t have the power we expected when we saw our competitor from our class pulling away from us on the main straight. We didn’t want to push more power from the engine because we wanted to keep it reliable, so to make us more competitive we have to focus in upgrade the other area, we decided to upgrade the aero package on our car because we understand no one on the grid focusing in this area and specially on a track like Pembrey a good amount of downforce will give us abit of advantage.

Qualify –

Its my first time to go out with this aero package, so in the first few laps I was just trying out how the car behave compare to before, the different is huge, the way the front end turn it is completely different now. I managed to go almost 3 secs faster than last year (ref- 1mins 8.8 last year and 1mins 6.1 this season) and remember now we are on R888 instead of A048, if its was with the right tyres the different could be more than 3.5 secs. So we qualified 2nd overall, surprisingly in front of the GT500 class RX7 by 0.2 secs

Race 1 –

Had a pretty good start, but lose the place to the RX7 and Kris Civic because I was trying too hard trying overtake the RX7 on the outside of the hairpin, but Kris found a gap there and I didn’t want to repeat the accident like last year, so I was taking it easy because I still not 100% sure how the car going to behave with the new aero package with cold tyres so I stay behind Kris for a few laps, it was a really good race between me and Kris EK civic, we both pushing 100% and at lap 4 we both drift into the last corner, that’s how hard we are both trying! This is definitely one of the best race ever.