Tablet installation build thread...(Brainiac)

SmoggyPauly

OK, not really done anything like this before but thought I'd document my build here in case anyone else is interested (and also to get help as I go along!).
So I'm going to mount a Galaxy Tab 4 tablet (10.1") in my 350z in place of the head unit & sat nav. I'm using the plastics from Workshop 12 that are available now to order.

Although I know a little electrics, I'm fairly new to in car audio installation etc, having only wired in a new head unit in the past. However, on their web site, Workshop 12 are slowly adding more tutorials etc so will plough on! They are also working on a comprehensive app for android (Brainiac), but as that's not finished yet, I'll be looking for other alternatives and tricks as the hardware buttons for home, back, volume etc will not be accessible. This will all be resolved in the app though - there's details of it here:
https://workshoptwelve.com/brainiac-solution/

There's also a bit of history there about how it all came about. I wont go into detail but they were going to release a full unit with screen etc but couldn't get funding.

Anyway, back to the build...

First of all, I bought a spare head unit/gauges bezel. not totally necessary but allows me to leave me car intact whilst im working on it...

Photo01.jpg.ec9cfd149441dc30779596388ec2c84e.jpg

Then last week, the plastics to mount the tablet arrived. These are 3d prints, pretty good quality but rough surfaced so need preparing. At the same time, I bought a number of connectors etc that will be needed to connect the audio etc. These consisted of:
 - 12v to 5v converter
 - On-the-go USB cable 
 - 3.5mm to RCA audio cable
 - Ground loop isolator (to negate any interference that might occur - might not be necessary)
 - 350z specific audio wiring harness