Uprev + Pops and Bangs add on (2004 DE)

jamiebridge

Hello,

I am booking my 2004 DE into TDI to get an uprev, I am wanting to get the pops and bangs add on.

However TDI have told me that on my early ECU (even with the larger cruise control ECU) it is mappable, but not switchable.

SO my options are:

1. Get an uprev with non-switchable pops and bangs.

2. Get a 2006 revup ECU, Get it fitted and get the switchable maps uprev, how easy is this? Is it going to cost me small fortune?

My Questions:

If i opt for 1. pops and bangs constantly mapped in, how often does it pop and bang? Is it going to start doing my head in after a few weeks? If it only pops and bangs every so often / driving in a certain way, im comfortable with that. I'm assuming pops and bangs is an add on? It's doesn't affect the performance on the uprev map? (Be kind, I'm new to mapping).

If I decide to get a new ecu, get it fitted ect, how easy is this? Is it going to cost me small fortune?

In order to create the pops and crackles it relies on slight dipping of the accelerator pedal so if you get a bit sick of it just don't do it. It'll happen naturally a bit

but not to the extent that it's going to wind you up. I've had mine mapped in on my HR and although switchable I'm constantly in the "pop and bang" map.

As i said it's more of a crackle, you're not going to wind up with an ASBO

• Like 2

In order to create the pops and crackles it relies on slight dipping of the accelerator pedal so if you get a bit sick of it just don't do it. It'll happen naturally a bit

but not to the extent that it's going to wind you up. I've had mine mapped in on my HR and although switchable I'm constantly in the "pop and bang" map.

As i said it's more of a crackle, you're not going to wind up with an ASBO

Haha, perfect! Think i will go for that then. Thanks for the help.

• Like 1

Probably worth dropping a PM to Mark@Abbey. He'll be able to confirm for sure.