de-cat ecu reset ?

Evil-C

its completely standard. i'm not looking to go mad with the mods, i had a 350gt a few years back and de-cat'd it sounded a bit better and gave it a few extra horses. why would it ruin the engine? as you can tell, i'm no expert at these things :0 ..

Fitting decats will not screw your engine, its will not cause it to run lean, all it will do is remove a slight restriction which the ECU is perfectly capable of adjusting AFRs for via lambda feedback, not sure if the map ever goes open loop on the 370 ? i suspect not, but if so its will run things on the rich side for safety anyway.

I am not convinced that decats are going to achieve anything without breathing mods and a remap anyway.

I'm doing it mainly because i have a standard exhaust and on more than one occasion I've been doing about 75 in 4th without realising where its so quiet. i don't want it to sound like my neighbours 'maxed' corsa or do i have the funds to put a new exhaust on it so this seems like the best option at the mo. i guess we'll see.....

I'm doing it mainly because i have a standard exhaust and on more than one occasion I've been doing about 75 in 4th without realising where its so quiet. i don't want it to sound like my neighbours 'maxed' corsa or do i have the funds to put a new exhaust on it so this seems like the best option at the mo. i guess we'll see.....

There are some backbox replacment pipes from AAM that quite a few people use instead of a full system and I think they make it a bit louder although would have to check with someone who has them to be sure.

• 5 months later...

Rather than starting a new thread, just thought I'd see if you had any issues in the end fitting the decats? I've picked up some Cobra de-cats on the cheap, thought it was worth a go fitting them. I assume the standard cats are just bolted on and it's a fairly straight swap to take them off, bolt new one's on?

Also, did you have any issues with warning lights/lambda sensors etc?