Clicking Axle Noise Solved - Try this first!!!!!

Mrdeli

Disclaimer - this worked for me and has for lots in the USA. I am not a trained mechanic - if you are unsure of mechanics leave this to an expert. I take no responsibility for any works that you choose to do to your car – any works are at your own judgement and risk.

I would rate this repair as easy diy.

My car has suffered from the well documented clicking noise (from drivers side) rear axle since purchase.

There is an awful lot of information on the web about it - but the more you research it, the more different answers are thrown up. (It is possible of course that various different problems exist).

I have however come to the conclusion that most posts assume that the universal joints are the problem. This initially seems to be logical - but I now believe in the vast majority of cases these are a red herring.

My car exhibited 'classic' signs of the clicking axle problem. From standing still each time I moved off (forward or backwards) the rear axle would make a clicking sound. Also underway if I stepped off the gas and then back on it would often click. The click is not a constant click, just a one off click each time.

Logic would assume that the universal joint may have a play in it, and that the 'slack' being taken up is what is causing the click. I was so convinced that this was the answer to the problem that I was about to purchase new universal joints.

I then came across this thread –

http://m.my350z.com/forum/showthread.php?t=428639

Initially on the above thread it stated the fix was to remove the axle, grease and rotate the joint etc...

But by the end of the thread the problem had been traced to insufficient lubrication to the inner edge of the axle splins and collar.

Better still, to add lubrication just requires the axle nut to be slacked off, the axle pushing in around 1 1/2 inches and the area being lubricated.